Safety Committee Information




A comprehensive community team that works together to align an approach that focuses on evidence-based school policies and practices for the Whole School, Whole Community, and Whole Child to belong safely in the school environment.  



A comprehensive community team that works collaboratively with the community to plan for (prevent, prepare, and implement) the safety needs of our school district.


District Safety Committee Members

Deborah Arnoldy, District Nurse

Mike Darga, Superintendent

Patrick Donohue, Principal, APMS

Chris Egan, Chief of Police, APPD

Giovanni Foster, Assistant Principal, APHS

Ryan John, Director of Schools, Cabrini

Michelle Kean, School Social Worker

Jared Knudsen, SRO

Kathy Lott, Principal, Lindemann

Dave Maison, Technology Representative

Jack Miller, Social Worker, APMS

Jeff O’Riley, Fire Chief, APFD

Kendra Payette-Linn, School Social Worker

Meaghan Rourke, District Athletic Trainer

Erica Saville, School Social Worker

Zach Short, Principal, Bennie

Jason Skiba, Principal, APHS

Marisa Tringali, School Social Worker

James Victor, AD, APHS

Patrick Ward, Director of Operations

Kathy Weaver, Social Worker, APHS

Steve Zielinski, Principal, Arno



Allen Park Public Schools School Safety Drills Requirements

Public Act 12 of 2014 which went into effect on July 1, 2014, revises the number and scheduling of required school safety drills. Ten drills will be required each year:

• Five fire drills per school year. Three of which must take place by December 1.
The other two during the remainder of the school year.
• Two tornado safety drills per school year. One of which must take place in March.
• Three lockdown drills per school year, including security measures appropriate to an emergency "such as the release of hazardous material
or the presence of a potentially dangerous individual on or near the premises." At least one of the drills must take place by December 1 and at least
one after January 1.
• At least one of the drills must be scheduled during lunch, recess, or at another time when a significant number of students are present, but
not in classrooms.
• Drill schedules for each school year must be submitted by September 15.
• Completed safety drills shall be posted on the website within 30 school days after the drill is completed and must be maintained on the
website for 3 years.
• Scheduled drills that are canceled due to severe weather/conditions beyond the control of the school authorities must be rescheduled within
10 days after the canceled drill date.